MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Tiger News
Sign up for Driver's Ed, after break

snip20191218_5.png

Mark calendars! Online sign-up (15 spots) opens Monday Jan. 6. | Walk-in sign-up (15 spots) opens Tuesday, Jan. 7 & Thursday, Jan. 9, during lunches, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. in room 110A. Classes are scheduled Feb. 24 – March 6.  Space is limited. Sign up as soon as possible!

South High School Winter 2020 Drivers Ed Classroom Training

  • February 24 – March 6, 2020
  • Mondays through Fridays
  • 3:15-6:15 pm
  • Room 148, South High School
  • Cost $125
  • Register on-line or in-person. First come, first served. Class size is limited to 30 students.

Full payment. $125, must be made at time of registration.

  • Payments of cash, checks (made out to: Special School District #1.), Visa, MasterCard or Discover are accepted.
  • Students can be 14 years-old to participate in class, they must be 15-years-old to obtain a permit.
  • Confirmations & communications will be sent via email. Cancellations must be made 3-business days prior to the start of the class to receive a refund minus a $5 processing fee. 
  • Classes are highly structured and there is no flexibility for missing classes or making-up the work. MN state law requires students to participate in 30-hours of classroom education.

Register online at www.mplscommunityed.com starting Monday, Jan. 6.

Forms and walk in registration will be available starting Tuesday, Jan. 7 and Thursday, Jan, 9 during lunch (11am-12:30pm) in Room 110A, the Community Ed office, west wall of the commons, lunch area.

Space is limited, sign up as soon as possible!

South Community Education, Room 110A         
Maile Siemon, Coordinator
maile.siemon@mpls.k12.mn.us,          
612-668-4326

Driver’s Education Classroom Instruction

Minnesota’s Graduated License Program provides 3-phases of licensing for persons under 18-years-of-age.  It is designed to ease young, inexperienced drivers into the driving environment.

This course will be the 1st-phase of the licensing process and will prepare students to take the written knowledge test to obtain their Class D, Instructional Driving Permit with the State of Minnesota

South Community Education offers the State required 30-hour Driver’s Education Classroom Instruction 3-times per year (Fall, Winter & Spring Sessions).  The course consists of 10 – 3-hour classroom sessions, beginning immediately following the release of the regular school day.  Courses are taught by state certified driving school instructors hired by Minneapolis Public Schools.

Process for obtaining a MN Class D, Instruction Driving Permit:

  • Complete an approved 30-hour Driver’s Education Classroom Instruction course.
  • Receive a Certificate of Completion or “yellow card” from the Classroom Instruction course.
  • Enroll in an approved *Behind-the-Wheel Instruction course, of your choice; provide your yellow card.
  • Receive a Certificate of Registration or “blue card” from the Behind-the-Wheel Instruction course provider.
  • Take your blue card to an approved DMV testing facility to take a written knowledge test.
  • Pass a written knowledge test, vision test, complete an application and pay the required fees (a parent or legal guardian’s signature and certification will be required).  Receive your MN Class D, Instruction Driving Permit.

*Behind-the-Wheel Driving Lessons are NOT included with this class.

  • Mpls Community Ed does not provide this service.
  • Registration for BTW is done independently, by parents & students, with any driving school of their choice. 
  • Expect the cost to range between $200 - $600. 
  • Mpls Community Ed does not endorse any specific driving school.