MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Pop Singers

Pop Singers is an advanced level vocal ensemble of soprano, alto, tenor, and bass voices. Singers in this ensemble are dedicated to singing and studying jazz and pop music, training their voices in healthy singing technique, and learning and applying elements of music theory. Pop Singers students are committed to serving as leaders in South Music by encouraging and affirming all members of the South Music Community and serving as positive and intentional ambassadors of South Music in the public.

An audition in September is required for entrance, and prior choir experience is necessary.

Subscribe to SouthPS via Remind: text @26c6hf to the number 81010
Events
Expectations (to be signed by parent/guardian)
Spring Tour
 

There are 13 required events for the 2019-2020 school year:
1. Thurs, Sept 26 Music Tour Meeting at 7pm
2. Mon, Nov 11 Fall Jazz Concert with Jazz I & Jazz II at 7pm
3. Tues, Nov 19 South Info Night for perspective 9th graders at 6pm
4. Sat, Dec 7 American Swedish Institute at 10am and Mall of America Rotunda at 4pm
5. Fri, Dec 13 IDS Crystal Court at 12pm
6. Tues, Dec 17 South Winter Concert at 7pm
7. Thurs, Jan 16 Swing Night at 6:30pm
8. Thurs, March 19 Tour Benefit/Montage Concert at 7pm
9. Thurs, Apr 23 8th Grade Registration Night at 6pm
10. Mon, May 18 Spring Jazz Concert with Jazz I & Jazz II at 7pm
11. Thurs, May 13 All Jazz Breakfast at 7am
12. Tues, May 19 MRTI Luncheon Performance at Eagles Club 10:30am-2pm
13. Fri, May 22 MPS Showcase at ValleyFair 9:15am-1:30pm


The Annual Spring Music Tour is optional:
Wed, Apr 15 - Mon, Apr 20
Destination: New Orleans, Louisiana
*Required meeting for all traveling students and parents/guardians: Thurs, Sept 26 7pm


Performance Attire needed before Mon, Nov 11 Fall Jazz Concert:
- Black dress pants/slacks/skirt (skirts knee-length or longer)
- Black long-sleeved dressy shirt
- Black socks/tights
- Black dress shoes
- Black belt (if tucking in shirt)
- For Winter Performances, an "Ugly Winter Sweater" is needed

 

Materials needed every day in class:
- 1/2" black 3-ring binder
- tab dividers with pockets (to put in binder)
- pencil
- water bottle

Materials needed at beginning of the year for the Choir Community:
- box of tissues
- bottle of hand sanitizer
- Clorox wipes

Classroom materials requested of families who can provide them:
- Expo whiteboard markers (low-odor)
- Expo whiteboard spray cleaner
- whiteboard erasers
- pencils


Donations always very much appreciated:
- pitchpipes (approximately $25 each)
- handsoap
- keyboard for one of the practice rooms (one of our keyboards is broken)