MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Tiger News
Conry and South debate shine at State


Hello from the Minnesota Urban Debate League! We are excited to share the results of the Minnesota State High School League's State Debate Tournament with you!


Coaches Izak Gallani-Matyas, Sandy Bolton, and Oskar Tauring-Traxler worked hard to prepare your students for this tournament, which is the capstone of the season.

Your students had an excellent performance at this tournament! 

We would like to congratulate Annabelle Niblett & Clara Conry for making it to the finals and earning the State Finalist!  In an extremely close debate, Annabelle and Clara fell to the Champions from Eagan on a 4-1 decision. In order to reach Finals, Annabelle and Clara had to best partnerships from excellent programs such as Central, Farmington, Rosemount, Edina, and Eagan. Earning 2nd place at the State Tournament is a huge deal - please make sure to recognize these students!

The partnership of Molly Reehl & Ezra Gearhart advanced to Quarterfinals! They also earned the 3rd place seed after winning four of their five preliminary debates. Molly & Ezra bested teams from Minneapolis Roosevelt, Como Park, Edina, and St Paul Central high schools to reach Quarterfinals. Nicely done! 

MNUDL would like to send a very special congratulations to Clara Conry for earning the Tamar Kaplan Student of the Year award! This is an exceptional achievement! The Tamar Kaplan Student of the Year award goes to the debater who most embodies the values coaches want to see in debaters - not only competitive drive and success, but also someone who helps with the younger debaters, advocates in their community, and maintains academic excellence. Clara is a great debater, but more importantly an excellent young person - South’s debate team is lucky to have her.

Thank you so much for supporting debate at South High School! It’s great to see South continue their tradition of excellence in debate. 

South will continue their season by competing at a few national circuit tournaments and eventually the season will culminate in the Tournament of Champions for the partnership of Clara & Annabelle - for Ezra & Lucy McComas the final debate tournament will be the National Speech and Debate Association’s National Championship Tournament. We can’t wait to see how they do!


Jake Swede

Program Director

Minnesota Urban Debate League 

Tournament Results 

Varsity Division: 

Team Awards: 

  • FINALISTS: Niblett & Conry 

  • QUARTERFINALISTS: Reehl & Gearhart