MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
2013-2014 School Year
2013-2014 Varsity Team Photo: Players Names were not listed in the 2014 South Yearbook.

The 2013-2014 football season began with no fanfare.  So special visits from Vice Presidents. No special focus by the media.  Just hard work and dedication from the people who wanted to play a special game. 

South opened the season against a tough Columbia Heights team  The Highlanders were riding high after beating the Tigers 50-6.

South played their first conference game against Henry.  The Tigers pulled off a 34-27 win. 

South stepped out of the conference and took on the Governors of St. Paul Johnson.  In a defensive struggle, Johnson won 18-6.

South played rest of the regular season against conference opponents.  Against Edison, South won handily, 25-6.  South then faced the two most powerful teams in the city.  North piled up a 50-19 win.  This was followed by a 47-6 win by Washburn. Washburn and North finished first and second respectfully.  It would be Washburn’s 13th consecutive conference title.  

South in a nail-biter, edged Roosevelt 19-18.  That was followed by the last regular season game against Southwest.  The Lakers won 21-10.

In the Region 3AAAA tournament, South played a sound game but fell to Richfield 35-26.

South finished with a 3-3 conference record, in fourth place.  Overall, the team was 3-6.  Drew, Digan, Kyle Helmstetter, Anthony Hockett and Bailey Smith were named to the All-Conference squad.

Coach Lenny Sedlock finished his 13th season as the team leader.  He was assisted by Chris Barrett, Byron Carter, Andy Henderson, Tyler Jenson and Ross Muellenberg.