MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
2011-2012 School Year
2011-2012 Varsity Team Photo: Players’ names have not been found.

The 2011-2012 football coaching staff hoped to build on the success of last season. Head Coach Lenny Sedlock, beginning his 11th season as the Tigers leader amassed the largest coaching staff in history.  With 12 assistant coaches, every players would be able to get the assistance they needed to improve.  Also, because of low numbers, Roosevelt did not field a varsity team. (They did have a Junior Varsity squad. 

The season started with a 30-0 stunning win over North.  The Polars were totally demoralized by this loss. 

Washburn gained a bit of revenge for their loss last season with a 45-6 destruction of the Tigers.

South traveled to North to play the Polars for the second time.  Because of Roosevelt not fielding a team, the two games allowed both team to play the maximum number allowed by the Minnesota State High School League.  This was also North’s Homecoming.  South crushed the Polar dreams, in a 24-18 win.

South returned to Barnard Field for the Tigers’ Homecoming.  In a close 14-6 game, the Tiger fans went home happy.  Unfortunately, this was the last win for the Tigers this season.

South played under the lights at Eden Prairie.  The Eagles tripled the Tigers score, winning 62-20.

Southwest then shut out the Tigers 28-0.  That was followed by a 16-14 loss to Edison.

South again played Robbinsdale Cooper instead of participating in the Twin City Crossover. Again, the Hawks won, 56-7.

In the Region 4AAAAA tournament, South lost to Eagan 56-0.

South finished the season 2-3 in the Minneapolis City Conference, tied with Edison and Henry for third place.  Overall, the team was 3-6.  Even though the Tigers had a poor record, four players were named All-Conference: Mark Akpaka, Charlie Metcalf, Matthew Scott, and Brandon Strong.

Assisting Coach Sedlock this season were Laurie Balzer, Chris Barrett, Dan Brandt, Chris Carman, Byron Carter, Elliot Gleason, Nate Grinager, Peter Grinager, Hillary Hardeman, Andy Henderson, Ross Muellenberg, and Chad Norman.