MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
2010-2011 School Year

Team Photo Not Available

The 2010-2011 soccer season began with a new leader.  New Head Coach Tamba Johnson brought in a new staff, including Patric Bartel, Jeremiah Bass and Knuti Ndely.  Their job was to get the Tigers back to the top of the standing.

South opened the season with three tough non-conference games.  First was Burnsville.  The Blaze fell 4-1.  South gained revenge on Bloomington Jefferson, who defeated the Tigers last season.  South won a close contest 1-0.  In another close game, South beat Eastview 2-1.

The conference season continued the winning, with South destroying Edison 14-0.  This was followed by an even worse 19-0 beating of Henry.  The next game was against rival Southwest.  The Lakers again won.  The final was 3-1.

Three more conference games were played, all wins.  Edison fell 12-0.  Roosevelt played hard but fell 3-1.  Henry was against shut out, 8-0. 

Non-conference opponent Apple Valley had their way with the Tigers, winning 6-1.

The conference games continued with South doubling up Roosevelt 6-3.  Washburn was shut out 4-0, followed by a 17-1 drubbing of North. 

The only conference blemish was against Southwest, whom the Tigers would play in their next game.  The game was for a share of the conference title.  The game was even for the majority of the time, with both teams hoping for one goal.  That is all that was scored, by the Lakers, giving them the title.

South finished the conference season with wins against North, 13-0, and Washburn, 5-1.

In the Region 6AA tournament. South drew Buffalo in the first round.  The Tigers ground Buffalo into defeat, winning 6-0.  In the game against Wayzata in the next round, the two team played a closer contest.  Wayzata ended the Tigers’ season with a 3-2 win.

South finished the season with a 10-2 conference record, in second place.  Overall, the Tigers were 14-4.  The following players were named to the All-Conference team: Elliot Cassutt, Levi Corbeil-Wild, Sammi Hntous and Kyle Keefe.  Mitchelle Erickson, Sam Harper and Osba Mohammad were Honorable Mention All-Conference.  Elliot Cassutt was named All-State and Sammi Hantous was an All-State Honorable Mention.  Both were for Class AA.  The StarTribune named Elliot Cassutt to their second team All-Metro Squad.  The Pioneer Press name Elliot Cassutt and Sammi Hantous to their All-State Team.