MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
2009-2010 School Year
Front Row: Jesse Loges, Negawo Ansha, Ryan Mulloy, Brandon Strong, Pierre Bowdry, Amin Buta. Middle Row: Michael Straw, David MCEwen, Clayton Moore, Brett Peterson, Joseph Smith, Minh Do, Cole Zitek, Mark Akpaka. Back Row: Coach Joe Morgan, Coach Drew Gau, Zane McGadden, Nathan Peterson, Anthony Rose, Caleb Erickson, Paul Hagen, Brent Martin, Elijah Ellison, Coach Chris Barrett.

Four in a row!  That is the number of consecutive conference championships that the Tigers have won at the end of this season.  Coach Drew Gau, a South graduate and wrestler, has lit a fire under the team that no one before him has ever done.  During these four years, the team has a 24-0 conference record.

Senior Jesse Loges has been wrestling for 10 years.  He had some new responsibilities this year.  “I have to work hard and show the new wrestlers how it is done,” he said.

A tradition for the team, and a way for the wrestlers to bond is to go to Denny’s after wrestling tournaments.  When asked what advice he would give to a new wrestler, Loges said, “It is the hardest sport you will ever do.”

The team opened the season with a Triangular meet against Brooklyn Center and Orono.  Brooklyn Center was defeated easily, 57-18, but Orono posed a bit of a problem.  The close 45-35 match ended in the Tigers favor.

South participated in the St. Paul Highland Park tournament in their next competition, winning the eight-team tournament with a score of 160.5.  The second place Roseville team scores 138.

The conference season opener was the next match of the season.  South destroyed Washburn by a 63-9 score.

A quadrangular meet was next on the agenda for the Tigers. Unfortunately, the Tigers only defeated Robbinsdale Armstrong, 50-30.  They lost the other two matches to Spring Lake Park/St. Anthony, 41-35, and to Totino Grace 54-22.

Two more conference matches took place right before Winter Break.  South defeated conference runner-up Southwest 48-24 and then beat up Henry 60-12.

During Winter Break, the Tigers travelled to Fargo, ND to participate in the Rumble on the Red Tournament.  There were 58 teams from Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota that participated.  The younger wrestlers received a lot of experience going against many powerful opponents.  The team ended in 53rd place.

The conference season resumed with South wrestling Edison on Jan. 7, 2010.  Edison was no match for the Tigers.  South won 69-6!

Two days later, the team participated in the Hopkins Paul Bengtson Invitational.  The team placed 4th out of ten teams.  The missed third place by two points!

Another non-conference quad took place next which included two teams from Wisconsin.  The Tigers defeated Somerset, WI 53-28 but lost to Menomonie 51-27.  They also lost to the team from Stillwater, 66-9.

The conference season ended on Jan. 21, with the Tigers demolishing the last two teams.  North lost 64-3 and Roosevelt was beaten 76-6!

The last tournament of the season was at Eastview.  The Tigers finished 8th out of 11 teams.

The last quad of the season saw the Tigers defeated Tartan in a close match 40-36.  However South lost to White Bear Lake 45-21 and Watertown-Mayer 64-9.

The Twin City match this year was against St. Paul Johnson.  The Tigers won 51-24.  They evened their record at 2-2 in the last four years in the Twin City matches against the St. Paul champion.

The regular season came to an end in a five team meet.  The Tigers won one out of four matches.  They defeated Minnehaha Academy by a close 41-36 score.  The lost to Park Center 42-27, Mankato West 47-30 and Minnetonka 47-30.

South was placed in the Region 4AAA this year and unfortunately lost in the opening round of the team competition to Woodbury 45-27.  In the individual competition, 119 pound sophomore Amin Buta and 130pound senior Jesse Loges advanced to the State Tournament.