MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
2009-2010 School Year

Team Photo Not Available

The 2009-2010 season began as any other, with the coaches and players hoping for a successful season.  Success at South is defined as a conference championship and an appearance in the State Tournament.  This season was not different.

South opened the season with three tough non-conference games.  First was Bloomington Jefferson.  The Jaguars were too much for the Tigers and won 3-0.  South showed improvement in their second game with a 1-0 win over Hopkins.  The third game ended with a 1-1 tie against Wayzata.

The conference season opened with two shutout.  First, the Tigers beat Henry 5-0.  This was followed by a 3-0 win over Roosevelt.  The third conference opponent was the schools South battled in recent years for the conference title, Southwest.  The Lakers and Tigers fought back and forth, with the Lakers taking the win, 3-1. 

The first half ended with three more wins for the Tigers.  For the second time, South beat Henry in another shutout.  The final was 3-0.  Washburn was next to fall by a close 2-1 margin.  Edison was also shut out, 6-0.

The second half started with a blowout win over North, 11-0. The Tigers expected another win over Roosevelt, but the Teddies shocked the Tigers, winning 3-0! 

The Tigers bounced back with an 8-1 win over Edison.  This was followed by the second game against Southwest.  The Lakers claimed the conference title with a 3-0 win over South. 

The conference season ended with two wins.  The first was a slim 1-0 win over North.  It was followed by a 3-0 win over Washburn.

The regular season ended with a 1-0 win over Robbinsdale Armstrong. 

In the Region 6AA tournament, South drew St. Michael-Albertville in the first round.  A 3-0 win propelled the Tigers to the second round, taking on Armstrong.  South was favored because of their win a week earlier, by the Falcons must have been holding back in that game.  South’s season ended with a 4-0 loss.

The Tigers, led by Head Coach Danny Dietl, finished with a 9-3 conference record, tied with Roosevelt for second place.  Overall, the Tigers were 12-5-1.  Four players were named to the All-Conference team: Owen Byrnes, Elliot Cassutt, Zach Cassutt, and Sam Myren.  Coach Dietle was assisted by Dean Campbell.  Coach Dietl resigned after the season ended.