MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
2008-2009 School Year
2008-2009 Varsity Team Photo: Players names were not listed in the 2009 South Yearbook.

Coach Danny Dietl began his second season at the helm of the Tiger soccer program.  South barely missed another conference championship last season and hoped to avenge two close losses to Southwest.

The Tigers opened with two tough non-conference games.  First was against Bloomington Jefferson.  The Jaguars eked out a 3-2 win.  The offense scored more goals in their game against Osseo, but also lost this game, 4-3.

The conference season opened with three straight wins.  Edison fell 7-2.  Two shutouts followed.  Henry fell 5-0 and Washburn lost 8-0.

The next game was against Southwest.  The team remembered last season’s two 1-0 losses.  The Tigers came out hard, but for the third straight time against the Lakers, Southwest won 1-0!

The first half of the conference season ended with a 2-1 win over Roosevelt and a 17-0 win over North. 

Three non-conference games were scheduled between halves of the conference season.  In a close game, South fell to Osseo 2-1.  The game against Anoka was even closer.  Neither team scored, and the game ended in a 0-0 tie.  The next non-conference game was a 2-0 loss to Wayzata. 

South played the last six conference games hoping Again, Washburn and Edison both fell.  The Millers lost 5-0 and the Tommies lost 5-1. This set up the second game against Southwest.  The Lakers’ only blemish was a tie in the first conference game of the season against Washburn.  South’s only blemish was a 1-0 loss to Southwest.  This game was for the title.  Would Southwest win again?  Would the score be 1-0?  Well, the score was 2-1.  The Tigers finally beat the Lakers!

A 14-0 win over North, 3-0 win over Roosevelt and a 5-1 win over Henry gave the Tigers the conference title.

Two other non-conference games were played.  One was a 4-0 win over Robbinsdale Armstrong.  The other was a 0-0 tie against Benilde-St. Margaret’s.

In the Region Tournament.  South defeated Buffalo 4-0.  The lost a close contest to St. Louis Park 3-2 to end their season.

South’s championship team ended with an 11-1 conference record.  Overall, the Tigers were 13-6-2.  Four players were named to the All-Conference Squad: Zack Cassutt, Dula Fadis, Sam Hyneh and Osmael Jami.  Fadis and Hyneh were named to the StarTribune’s All-Metro First Team.  Fadis was named to the All-State team and Hyneh was an Honorable Mention on the All-State team.