MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
2006-2007 School Year
2006-2007 Combined Team Photo: Front Row: P. von Sternberg, J. Kruse, M. Delap, M. Carlson, W. Meland. Second Row: Coach M. Gross, C. Arel, A. Greenhalgh, G. Martin, L. Carlsen, D. Monson, E. Capman, I. Lee, Shojo, D. Johnston, J. Moroles, S. Robertson, H. O’Nell-Meyer, A. Kendall, S. Phiopot. Third Row: M. Pellinger, C. Hay, G. Elvendahl, G. Gillmor, J. Langree, A. Brackeett, L. Meland, C. Brady, R. Kobede, T. Jackson, J. Locke, C. Franklin, N. Wang, H. Beekman, B. Hovland, A. Murphy. Fourth Row: R. Hart, M. Peterson, K. Young-Burns, E. Huber, M. Fassett, E. Safia, T. CHrenka, E. Sadowski, A. Stone, N. Knutson, A. Ciesielski, L. Harris, M. Seeley, E. von Sternberg, M. Harris, T. Engelsgaard, J. Adamek-Bowers, M. Okerstrom, Coach M. Alvarez. Back Row: C. Lauth, S. Page, J. Riley, R. Polakowsi, M. Bock-Aronson, J. Donovan, J. Colby-Milbrath, G. Smith, H. Mead, A. Lewison, E. Bieletto, T. Moroles, E. Heyl, M. White, P. Swim, B. Donovan, H. Spruth, B. Krouse-Gagne.

After the end of last season, Holly Kragthorpe resigned as Head Coach.  Mark Gross, one of the assistants took over with Melvin Alvarez remaining as assistant coach.  A full season was ahead for both the coaches and runners.

South opened at the Twin City Grade Level Meet with three runners placing.  At the 9th grade level, reshman Alex Ciesielski was the best runner, coming in first.  Joan Colby-Milbrath, a sophomore, came in third at the 10th grade level.  Joe Donovan came in third at the 11th grade level..

South hosted the Nokomis Invitational and finished in sixth place.

At the Blaine Invitational, South came in sixth in the Blue Division.

South travelled to Duluth to participate in the Swain Invitational.  In the Class AA division, South finished second.

At the Roy Griak Invitational at the University of Minnesota, South finished 30th.  Teams from all over the country participated.

An eighth place finish at the Faribault Meet and a fifth place finish in the Metro Invitational closed most of the season.  At the Hyland Meet, South did not place because they did not have enough runners for a team score.

At the Conference Meet, South was edged out for the title by Southwest 36-39.  South’s second place finish as a team was overshadowed by Hassan Mead.  Mead, a senior Tiger runner, claimed first place at the Conference Meet, becoming the fourth Tiger to bring home the individual title. Robel Kebede joined Mead on the winners platform, finishing in third place. 

At the B-Squad Conference Meet, South took the team title by claiming five of the top six individual spots. Alex Lewison, Joseph Demitrius, Michael Seely and Will Meland finished 1-4 respectfully.  Jack Lavgree finished sixth.

At the Region 5AA Meet, South finished fifth in the team competition.  Hassan Mead again finished first, advancing to the State Meet.

The State Meet was held at St. Olaf College in Northfield.  It was in the 50’s with a partly sunny sky and a calm wind.  Almost perfect conditions for running.  Hassan Mead too off and never looked back, claiming the State Individual Title in 15:10.7.  His time set both a State Record for the 5000 meters and the Class AA Course record.  Measd became the second Tiger to claim the State Individual Title.