MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
2000-2001 Season
2000-2001 Varsity Team Photo: Players’ Names were not listed in the 2001 South Yearbook

Going into the season, the Tigers have won 32 consecutive conference matches, and five straight conference team titles.  The players and their head coach, George Beske, hoped to continue that streak.

The Tigers opened the conference season against Henry. The Patriots were no match for the Mighty Tigers, falling 7-0.  Washburn and Roosevelt followed suit, both also losing 7-0.

South and Southwest clashed on September 21.  Both teams were undefeated.  Even though there were two matches remaining, this would be for the conference title.  South kept their streak alive with a very close 4-3 win.

South finished the conference season with a 7-0 win over North and a win over Edison.  The score of the Edison match was not reported.  South won their sixth consecutive team title and stretched their conference winning streak to 38 games.

In non-conference matches, the Tigers were 9-3.  South fell to Eagan, 4-3, Blake, 5-2, and Benilde-St. Margaret’s, 5-2. 

The closest wins in non-conference play were against Lakeville and Roseville.  South won both by a 4-3 score.  Against LaCrosse Aquanas, WI, the Tigers took home a 5-2 win.

Three non-conference matches were won by a 5-2 score.  The opponents were Burnsville, Bloomington Jefferson and Apple Valley.  There were three shut outs, with the Tigers winning 7-0.  The teams shut out were Henry Sibley, St. Paul Central and St. Louis Park.

In the Twin City match, South took on Cretin-Derham Hall.  The Tigers brought the trophy back to Minneapolis with a 4-3 win.