MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1999-2000 Season
1999-2000 Varsity Team Photo: Players’ names were not listed in the 2000 South yearbook.

Head Coach Jeff Sanders and his staff have challenges every swimming season.  Overcoming eligibility and transfer issues, bus schedules, pool schedules and injuries to swimmers are among those.  This year, the 14-year conference title streak, also is one of those challenges

The swimmers reported in the middle of August to begin the season.  Two weeks of practice took place before the team’s first conference meet.  The Tigers faced the Henry/North team in their first contest.  South won easily, 87-68.

Edison was the second opponent.  The Tommies have not had strong teams in recent years, but Edison gave the Tigers a run for their money.  South won, but only by close 61-55 margin.

The Tigers took on Washburn.  South had an easier time with the Millers, winning 89-73.

Roosevelt was the next foe.  In a low-scoring contest, South again won, 51-35.

This set up a meeting against Southwest.  The Lakers and Tigers were both undefeated in the conference standings.  On paper, the two teams were evenly matched.  South took things into their own hands and won the regular season title 92-83 over Southwest.  It was their 15th consecutive regular season championship.

In a conference Triangular meet, South also was the victor.

In a non-conference meet, South fell to Edina 60-40

In non-conference Tournaments, South did extremely well.  The won the annual Austin Invitational.  The finished second in both the Eau Claire Relays and The South Invitational.

In the Conference Meet, South took home all 12 first places and clinched their 15th consecutive Conference Meet title.  Freshmen Aurora Belk and Katy Vandam each won two events!  Belk took home the gold in the 100 Yard Breaststroke 1:08.14) and the 200 Yard Individual Medley (2:13.30).  Vandam Won the 100 Yard Backstroke (1:03.65) and the 100 Yard Freestyle (55.85).  Katue Balcom won the One Meter Diving competition.  Berit Fahrner took the 100 Yard Butterfly in 1:02.00.  Katie Morris claimed the title in the 200 Yard Freestyle in 2:06.12.  Melissa Schold won the 50 Yard Freestyle in a fast 26.15.  Emily Vicker endured in the 500 Yard Freestyle in 5:51.64. 

Three Relay teams also took home first place finishes.  The 200 Yard Freestyle Relay team of Thea Fleming, Lindsay Moen, Katie Morris and Jonna Gane won in 1:47.58.  The team of Katy Vandam, Berit Fahrner, Melissa Schold and Aurora Belk won BOTH the 200 Yard Medley Relay (1:54.57) and the 400 Yard Freestyle Relay (3:53.61).

South then defeated Cretin-Derham Hall in the Twin City meet 103-80.