MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1999-2000 School Year

Team Photo not Available

As summer fades and becomes fall, runners from South High School began training for the Cross Country season.

A new meet was added this year, the Twin Cities Grade Level Meet.  At this meet, team scores were not kept. What was kept was the order of finish of the individuals by grade.  Freshman Joe Tahdooahmippah finished third, which was the best 9th grader for South.  South had nine freshmen competing.  At the Sophomore level, Jesse Horst was fourth.  Five Tigers participated.  Only Charlie Davis participated as a Junior, and he finished 13th.  Jason Gendler was the lone Tiger Senior. He came in 25th

South then participated in the Nokomis Invitational where they finished second.  Another second place finish came at the Monticello Invitational.

The Tigers claimed third at the Metro Invtational.

The biggest event of the season was the Roy Griak Invitational at the University of Minnesota.  Teams from all over the country come to participate.  With such an elite group of competitors, South finished a very respectable fifth.

The regular season ended with a sixth place finish at the Burnsville Invitational.

At the conference meet, the goal was to regain the top spot.  Unfortunately, Southwest edged South by 10 points to retain the title.  Peter Voves, third place, Malcolm Richards, fourth, and Michael Keir, seventh, were the runners in the top ten for South.  Carl Page, 15th, and Devin Clarkson, 18th, rounded out the Tiger point earners.

At the Region 5AA Meet, the Tigers just missed another trip to the State Meet, finishing third.

Robert Rogness was Mr. Kaari’s assistant this season.

Unbeknownst to the runners on the South Cross Country Squad, this was a historic season.  It would be the last time Warren Kaari coached the team.  After 32 seasons, he decided to retire.

Coach Kaari leaves behind a legacy that will be tough to equal by anyone….four State Titles, ten Conference Titles, and hundreds of runners who learned from one of the best coaches in the state.