MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1997-1998 School Year
1997-1998 Team Photo: Front Row: J. Gendler, D. Wold, M. Richards, J. Spears, B. Merchant, A. Peter, Y. Huynh, B. Smith, A. Paquin, Y. Yang. Middle Row: J. Case, A. Hendel, C. Serrill, D. Favero, D. Scheffler, C. Page, T. Hanson, B. Baumann, J. Erickson, T. Rorth, J. Cutler, J. Tahdooahnippah, J. Huston. Back Row: Coach M. Hoyt, Coach W. Kaari, G. Spears, K. Garibalki, N. Miller, R. Acker, T. Hart, A. Voves, D. Clarkson, B. Dipman, C. Davis, M. Thomson, P. Keesey, M. Neuner, S. Schuette, Coach C. Canham.

As another year enters the late summer, the South Cross Country team begin practice.  In reality, most runners have been practicing all summer on their own or with their friends. 

Unfortunately, only two events were reported this season.  For the 10th consecutive season, South won the Conference Championship.  South claimed six of the top 10 spots.  Tony Peter, second place, led the Tigers.  Ryan Acker, third, Ben Merchant, fifth, Tim Hart, sixth, Mike Meumer, eighth, and Charlie Serrill, 10th were the runners in the top 10.

We do not know the results of the Region Meet, but we can assume the Tigers finished either first or second because they advanced to the State Meet for the 10th consecutive season.  At State, the Tigers finished seventh.

Margaret Hoyt joined Warren Kaari and Craig Canham on the coaching staff.  Craig Canham retired from coaching after 16 seasons with the South Cross Country Team.