MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1997-1998 School Year
Front Row: S. Gustafson, M. Eshleman, S. Kern, C.J. Kean, H. Zwicky, S. Stone. Middle Row: J. Shingledecker, K. Johnson, R. Stoneberg, Z. Mohr, J. Sindelar, J. Meinhold. Back Row: Coach L. Sedlock, S. Radcliff, B. Dippman, G. Price, M. Splice, J. Price, V. Zeiher, C. Borger, Coach M. Sanders.

The 1997-98 wrestling team was youn and new, but everyone felt confident that they would do well.  Under coaches Mark Sanders and Lenny Sedlock, the team practiced and worked hard, learning new moves and techniques to use during matches.

“We worked really hard during practices, conditioning and learning cool moves,” said freshman Gibson Price. 

Being in good condition was very important when you were wrestling an opponent.  Wrestlers had to have physical strength as well as good mental technique during their six minute matches.

The co-captains were senior Stuart Ralston and junior Christopher Borger.  They worked hard to bring the wrestlers together and to keep the team morale high.  “I am very close to all of my teammates.  We have a lot of fun even though we do not always win,” said junior Zachary Mohr. 

The common goals were to work hard creating a competitive team and to have fun wrestling.  “The main objective is to do your best on the mat and be proud of yourself always,” said Coach Sanders. 

The young team found hard to earn many wins during the season, when they competed against older, more experienced competitors.  During the conference matches, the team had a 2-4 record, improving to 5th place. 

The two victories were over the Northside schools, Henry and North.  The first game of the conference schedule was against Henry, whom they beat 57-17.  The last game of the conference season was against North, whom they defeated 58-6.

Between the two victories, the Tigers amassed four losses, losing to Southwest 43-27, Edison 39-24, Roosevelt 68-6, and Washburn 50-19.

Although the team lost to Maple Grove in the first round of the team regions, Vincent Zeiher advanced to the State Individual Tournament in the 160 weight class.