MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1995-1996 Season
1995-1996 Varsity Team Photo: Front Row: B. Istre, C. Adamsick, A. Ellingwood. Middle Row: L Noren, S. Lundquist, L. IStre, K. Holmquist, L. Adamsick, D. Pederson. Back Row: J.Kitzman, C. Hiner, A. Rollins, J. Johnson, M. Doerr, E. Trenkner, Coach G. Beske.

The Tigers opened the season as one of the favorites to challenge for the conference title.  Head Coach George Beske and his assistant M. Lehan had the job to keep the team on an even keel and work toward the team goals.

In the conference season, South seemed to mow down the competition.  Roosevelt was the first to fall, 7-0.  Washburn followed by a 7-0 score.  Henry managed to win one individual match, but the Tigers again won, 6-1.  North fell 7-0.  Defending champion Southwest was not much of a challenge, losing to the Tigers 6-1.  A 7-0 win over Edison capped off an undefeated conference season.

The Tigers took on St. Paul Central in the Twin City match and easily won 7-0.

In the Region 5AA Tournament, the Tigers won their first two matches, but fell in the championship, finishing second.

In the Region 5AA Individual Tournament, seniors Claire Adamsick and Brittany Istre claimed the championship and advanced to the State Tournament.

Eight players were named to the All-Conference team: seniors Claire Adamsick, Alexandra Ellingwood and Brittany Istre; junior Jennifer Johnson; sophomores Lindsay Istre, Kirsten Holmquist and Sarah Lundquist; freshman Dilcia Pederson.