MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1995-1996 School Year
1995-1996 Varsity Team Photo: Front Row: A. Wolters, K. Pratt, M. Meegan, M. Wolters, K. WInkel. Middle Row: E. Serch-Wells A. Lee, J. Brom-Palkowski, E. Malchow, M. Lee-Erickson. Back RowL Head Coach A. Cardarelle, J. McConville, R. Larson, M. Stenberg, M. Weiss, R. Rye, S. Tennessen, A. Diaz, J. Tennessen.

The two-time defending conference champion’s main goal was to win their third straight conference championship.  The road to the championship was a little rocky with many new players.  The team was extremely young, starting many freshmen and juniors.  Add to this, a new head coach, Amy Cardarelle.

The conference season began with a game against Edison.  South has traditionally easily won these games, however Edison has something difference planned this season.  South, who in recent years has scored in double figures, won only 4-0. 

Washburn was next.  In traditionally close games, this one was no different.   One goal separated the teams at the end of the game, with South edging the Millers 4-3.  The three goals in this game would be the only goals South gave up during the conference season.

North was the next to fall, 6-0.  Southwest lost 3-0.  Henry succumbed 10-0.  The closest game of the season was probably against Roosevelt. South won by a slim 1-0 score.  The Tigers undefeated conference season gave them their third straight conference championship.

According to the 1996 South Yearbook, the best win of the season was a 5-0 shut out of Eden Prairie.

South advanced in the Region Tournament, losing in the championship game to Totino Grace.

Head Coach Cardarelle was assisted by Maria Fraboni and Missy McGinty.