MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1992-1993 Season
1992-1993 Team Photo: Front Row: M. Olson, A. Cross, K. Gallagher, M. Favero, A. Voves, E. Hanson, M. Quinn, A. Mortenson, A. Peters. Second Row: A. Christley, W. Lakin, E. Englund, R. Lincoln, B. Curran, S. Kripner, B. Nelson, D. Sorensen, A. Favero, T. Siltberg. Third Row: S. Wiens, A. Baines, L. Watson, J. Bouta, A. Burke, S. Amidon, A. Miller, J. Gallagher, P. Okerlund. Back Row: Coach J. Sanders, E. Pye, K. Fuzzey, L. Snyder, L. Substad, T. Michaelson, A. Brendal, S. Kesting, C. Anderson, A. Musich.

As seven-time defending conference champions, people began wondering if the Tigers would ever lose.  The Minneapolis City conference decided to go back to a single round during the regular season.  This would allow teams to participate in more non-conference meets. 

South opened the season against the Henry/North squad.  The Tigers were too powerful, winning 98-57.  Edison fell almost by the same score, 96-61.  Washburn put up a good fight, but the Tigers won that meet as well, 96-80.

In the closest meet in years, the Tigers and Roosevelt were only separated by ten points, but the Tigers still prevailed 90-80.  Southwest was the last conference opponent and, like the rest of the conference, bowed to South’s superiority, losing 99-75.

The conference schools added two events to the schedule.  The first was a new Relay meet.  South scored 75 points in this contest.  The second was a triangular meet.  South finished with 161 points in the Tri, but the opponents were not reported.

In the Conference Meet, South again claimed the title, amassing 471 points.

South represented Minneapolis in the Twin City Meet.  The Tigers won for the fifth straight season, and sixth overall with 104 points.

In the Region Tournament, South finished in fifth place.  Elizabeth Burow advanced to the State Meet.

The Tigers won their eighth consecutive conference title and ran the conference regular season winning streak to 41 meets.

Jeff Sanders again coached the Tigers.