MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1990-1991 Season

Team Photo not Available

Head Coach Neil Anderson began his second season at the helm of the Tiger swimming program with a tall task, continuing the dominance over the conference. 

South opened the season against the Henry/North team.  In the past, North combined with Edison.  This season Edison would field their own team and Henry would return to the conference, combining with North.  The “new” team offered no competition for the champs, with South winning 97-52.

South stepped out of the conference in a meet against Park of Cottage Grove.  Park offered less competition than the Henry/North squad, losing 127-56.

The “new” Edison team worked hard but the Tigers had an easy time with them too, winning 123-41. 

South travelled to Eau Claire to participate in their invitational meet.  The Tigers finished with 146 points.

The Tigers almost doubled up Washburn in their next meet, winning 120-61.  Roosevelt fell 117-65, as did Southwest, 115-65, ending the first half of the conference season.

South finished a respectable third in the Austin Invitational scoring 160 points.

The Tigers had an easy go of it in the second round of conference play winning every meet.  The Henry/North combo lost to the Tigers 102-67.  The Tigers sank Edison 104-45.  Washburn fell 112-68.  Roosevelt went down 110-53.  The last meet of the regular season was against Southwest, who also fell 112-71.

In the Conference Meet, the Tigers again dominated, finishing in first place and breaking their own record for most points scored at 595!  Kristina Burow won the 100 Yard Backstroke in 1:02.93 and the 100 Yard Butterfly in 1:00.75.  Missy Froehle won the grueling 500 Yard Freestyle in 5:52.24.  Nicole Nelson won the 200 Yard Individual Medley in 2:30.62. 

Two relay teams also grabbed the titles at the Conference Meet.  The 200 Yard Medley Relay squad of Sarah Swager, Liesl Hargens, Kristina Burow, Kate Gallagher, Nicole Nelson, Jeny Bouta and Karin Conroy won the finals in 2:00.00  The 400 Yard Freestyle Relay team of Liz Burow, Nicole Nelson, Missy Froehle, Kristina Burow, Josie Ries, Megan Gearity, Amanda Criss and Jennifer Good won the finals in 4:00.00!  The reason there are more than four swimmers is that it may be assumed that some swimmers raced in the preliminaries while others raced in the finals.

South finished the season taking the Twin City Title, defeating Cretin-Derham Hall 103-80.