MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1989-1990 Season
1989-1990 Team Photo: Front Roww: J. Drager, J. Ries, M. Miller, K. Seemen, L. Hellebuyck, J. Bottkol, W. Laikin, K. Tokheim, K. Carte, L. Marquis, J. Good. Middle Row: M. Froehle, B. Larson, S. Swagger, T. KRanz, B. Walker, U. Hargens, J. Swan, M. Hargens, A. Conroy, J. Carlson. Back Row: Assistant Coach J. Good, L. Heider, V. Ostrin, R. Feinstein, K. Thielke, A. Maxwell, C. Francis, T. Tennessen, B. Pyle, S. Krippner, M. Gearity. J. Keepers, Head Coach Neil Anderson.

Talk about having a target on your back, the four-time defending champion Tigers were the team with that target.  Neil Anderson, who served 12 years as an assistant coach, began his first season as head coach.  He was joined by J. Good as assistant coach.  This season, the Minneapolis Conference would face each conference opponent twice during the regular season. 

South opened the season against Roosevelt.  The Teddies were the first team to fall to the Tigers.  The final score was 89-50.

The Tigers stepped away from conference meets to face two non-conference opponents.  The first was against Fridley.  In the battle of the “Tigers” the South Tigers beat the Fridley Tigers 104-68.  The Tigers also faced St. Paul Academy.  Again, the Tigers won 103-62.

The conference season resumed with a 109-49 win over the Edison/North team.  Washburn fell 104-68.  Southwest also fell 91-68.

In the second round, South again defeated all of their opponents.  Roosevelt lost 102-56. Edison/North fell 114-44.  Washburn kept the score close, but fell 92-80.  Southwest was the last team to go down, 101-70.

In the conference meet, South set a conference meet record, amassing 405.5 points!  The second place team was Washburn, who only scored 267.  Kristina Burow swam a 1:05.26 to take the 100 Yard Backstroke.  Leslie Dohm won both the 200 Yard Freestyle (2:07.35) and 500 Yard Freestyle (5:49.64).  The 200 Yard Medley Relay squad of Burow, Hargens, Froehle and Francis won the title with a 2;03.75 time. The 400 Yard Freestyle Relay was also won by South.  Dohm, Conroy, Good and Nelson won with a time of 4:05.14.

Again the Tigers represented Minneapolis in the Twin City Meet.  In what has become an annual meeting, South faced Cretin-Derham Hall again.  This year, Cretin was destroyed by the Tiger swimmers, 115-54.