MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1989-1990 School Year
1989-1990 Varsity Team Photo: Back Row: K. Regan, T. Olson, G. Ross, J. Fraboni, D. Melrose, J. McGinness. Third Row: J. Rogness, A. Petzel, A. Rooker, E. Rand, H. Padilla, N. Vasseur. Second Row: S. Barton, J. Love, B. Heglund, R. Hesser, T. TidgewellFront Row: S. Sorenson, A. Meitz

After winning their first conference title last season, the Tigers entered the 1989-90 season as the favorite to take it all.  Head Coach Joe McGinness knew it would not be easy to defend the title.

South opened against North.  The Polars put up no fight, losing 14-0.  Henry and Roosevelt were the next two game.  The Tigers won both by 10-0 scores.

Reality hit the Tigers in their next game, against Washburn.  The Millers ended the Tigers’ short winning streak.  The final was 3-1.

South returned to winning destroying Edison by a 15-0 score.  Southwest then handed the Tigers their second loss of the season, 3-1.

The Tigers won against North, 9-0, Henry, 18-0, and Roosevelt, 5-1.  For the second time, Washburn beat the Tigers, this time 4-1.  Edison again lost to the Tigers 14-0.  The conference season ended with a 4-1 loss to Southwest. 

In the Region Tournament, Washburn beat the Tigers for the third time this season. The final was 2-1, ending the Tigers’ season.  The Tigers finished 8-4 in the conference, in third place.