MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1988-1989 Season
1988-1989 Combined Team Photo: Back Row: Coach W. Kaari. J. Walsh, M. Davies, B. Mossadeghi, S. Landsted, D. Demarest, D. Dittrich, J. Macosko, G. Dykes, E. Brown, D. Rafferty, Y. Griffin, Coach C. Canha,. Third Row: L Ranheim, N. I, C. O’brien, J. Williams, B. Sholl, M. Anschel, C. Junker, R. Elaydi, E. Petersen, C. Sugnet, K. Vang, M. Bergman. Second Row: E. Anthony, B. Mack, E. Nelson, R. Altier, P. Dhruvan, G. Lakin, N. Merchant, S. Smith, J. Wegener, J. Jensen. Front Row: I. Manthe, K. Beach, B. Wallace, W. Berry, R. Mitchell, M. Anderson, S. Shinofield, K. Hanlon, L. Grow, E. O’Fallon.

As the summer comes to an end, the South Cross Country team begins its training.  Coaches Warren Kaari and Craig Canham created workout for the team which pushed the runners to be their best.

The first meet of the season was the Nokomis Invitational.  At this meet, South did not have enough players for a team score.  This was followed by a meet in New Ulm.  Again, South did not have enough runners for a team score.  However, this would be the last time that would happen during the season.

South then participated in the Apple Valley Invitational and finished in 12th place.  The team kept improving, as they finished in 4th place at the Burnsville Invitational and 5th place at the Anoka Invitational.

In the Conference Meet, Roosevelt won for the third straight year, with South finishing in second.  Washburn and Southwest rounded out the scorers, with Edison, Henry and North not having enough runners for a team score.  South’s best runner was Kirsten Hanlon, who finished 6th.  Ruth Mitchell, 7th, Laura Grow, 9th, Kara Beach, 11th, and Ingrid Manthe, 16th, were the remaining scorers for South.

After finishing second to Roosevelt for three straight seasons in the Conference Meet, South was out for revenge.  In the Region Meet, South finally defeated Roosevelt, with the Tigers finished 3rd, and the Teddies finishing 5th.  Osseo was the Region team champion.