MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1988-1989 Season
1988-1989 Team Photo: C. Burows, M. Taylor, L. Dohm, J. Robinson, U. Hargens, S. Joern, B. Walker, K.Conroy, T. Krantz, K. Tokheim, R. Feinstien, C. Heider, E. Lundell, V. Ostrui, D. Baker, J. Anderson, S. Smonides, B. Larson, K. Carte, L. Hellebuyck, Coach M. Anderson, J. Keepers, M. Martinson, K. Newberg, J. Bottool, K. Seman, C. Trittipo, L. Hargens, J. Carlson, J. Reis, J. Draggen, Coach N. Anderson, T. Tennessen, K. Jaglo, T. Willis, S. Olson, N. Dixon, B. Pyle, R. Mitchell, K. Saxrud.

Winning the regular season and conference meet title have become common-place for the Tigers, who have won these meets for the last three seasons.   Head Coach Mike Anderson and Assistant Coach Neil Anderson, had to make sure the swimmers did not try to do too much, yet give 100% in each of their events. 

South opened the season against the Edison-North squad.  In an easy 95-57 win, the Tigers were on their way to defend their title. 

Roosevelt was the next conference opponent.  The Teddies gave the Tigers a run, but fell in the end 77-70.

In what most people believed would be the meet that determined the conference regular season title, South and Washburn faced off next.  The Tigers won by eight, 90-82.

In what should have been a formality, Southwest was the Tigers last regular season opponent.  No one told that to Southwest however.  The Tigers won by a slim 82-79 score.

In the conference meet, history was made.  For the first time ever, two teams, South and Washburn amassed over 300 points!  South finished in first place with 357.  Washburn was second with 346.  Four individuals won a total of five individual titles.  Kristina Burrow won the 100 Yard Backstroke with a time of 1:09.07.  Ursula Hargens won the 100 Yard Breaststrike.  Unfortunately, her time was not reported.  Soonie Olson won the 100 Yard Freestyle with a time of 58.09.  Tasha Willis won two events, at the opposite end of the swimming spectrum.  She won the 50 Yard Freestyle in a time of 25.86.  She then returned and won the 500 Yard Freestyle in a time of 5:34.99.  In addition, two relays also claimed titles.  Burrow, Dixon, Hargens and Jaglo won the 200 Yard Medley Relay with a time of 2:05.37.  Olson, Willis, Dohm and Good won the 400 Yard Freestyle Relay in a quick 3:52.61.

South represented Minneapolis in the Twin City meet against St. Paul’s champion, Cretin-Derham Hall.  Unlike last season when the last event determined the outcome of the meet, The Tigers were in control for the entire meet, winning by 22, 97-75.

In the region meet, South finished in third place, scoring 148 points.

During the off-season, after 13 years leading the Tiger swimmers, Mike Anderson announced he would be resigning as the South Head Coach.