MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1988-1989 School Year
1988-1989 Combined Team Photo: Back Row: Coach W. Kaari. J. Walsh, M. Davies, B. Mossadeghi, S. Landsted, D. Demarest, D. Dittrich, J. Macosko, G. Dykes, E. Brown, D. Rafferty, Y. Griffin, Coach C. Canha,. Third Row: L Ranheim, N. I, C. O’brien, J. Williams, B. Sholl, M. Anschel, C. Junker, R. Elaydi, E. Petersen, C. Sugnet, K. Vang, M. Bergman. Second Row: E. Anthony, B. Mack, E. Nelson, R. Altier, P. Dhruvan, G. Lakin, N. Merchant, S. Smith, J. Wegener, J. Jensen. Front Row: I. Manthe, K. Beach, B. Wallace, W. Berry, R. Mitchell, M. Anderson, S. Shinofield, K. Hanlon, L. Grow, E. O’Fallon.

After years of finishing in second place at the Conference Meet, the team set a goal to dethrone Roosevelt.  Coaches Warren Kaari and Craig Canham believed the Tigers were ready for the next step, but the question was could the Tigers shake the image of being the runner-up.

South hosted the Nokomis Invitational.  The Tiger runners finished blazing but came up in second place.

At New Ulm, the Tigers claimed first place!  Against a packed field at the Apple Valley Eagle Invitational, the Tigers finished third, which disappointed the runners.

South improved to a second place finish at the Burnsville Invitational.  They ended the season with a first place at the Anoka Invitational.

As post season began, the JV claimed first place at the Twin City JV meet.

The Conference Meet was next.  Everyone expected Roosevelt to claim the title again.  But South would have none of it.  Tiger runners claimed the top three spots and seven of the top 11!

South won the Conference Title.  Ben Shott was the Conference Individual Champion, followed by Eli Anthony, second, and Eli Brown, third.  Dan Rafferty, seventh, Gaio Lakin, eighth, Dietz Dittrich, ninth, and Brownell Black, 11th, were the other South runners. Roosevelt finished second.

The next meet was the Region Meet.  South shocked everyone and took the title and a trip to the State Meet.

By this time, more people jumped on the cross country team’s bandwagon.  The 1989 South Yearbook reported, “On a frigid, snowy day in November, the Men’s Cross Country team won the State Championship. …they earned a place in history, becoming the third team ever at South to win a state title, the last being 44 years ago.” This was the first State Title in Cross Country.