MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1987-1988 School Year
1987-1988 Combined Team Photo: Front Row: T. Borgendale, I. Manthe, J. Freeman, C. Bartholomew, L. Grow, M. Back, W. Berry, E. MacLaughlin, S. Schnofield, L. Weibert, K. Beach. Second Row: S. Smith, E. Anthony, E. Petterson, C. Junker, A. Cohen, K. Hanlen, M. Anderson, G. Larkin, B. Scholl, M. Bispula. Third Row: L. Petterson, E. Martinson, M. Foster, B. Schalet, R. Dom, B. Bemerest, D. Forester, J. Rossow, Coach W. Kaari. Back Row: J. Benninghoff, G. Dyles, S. Lanstad, E. Beise, M. Swanson, D. Dittrich, J. Makasco, D. Rafferty, E. Brown, B. Mack.

With only two seniors on the team, Coaches Warren Kaari and Craig Canham knew experience was not going to be one of the strong suits for the Tiger Cross Country team.  Dedication, determination and desire would be.

No evidence of any dual meets was found.  However South participated in invitational meets at Benilde-St. Margaret’s Fairmont, Coon Rapids, Cambridge, and St. Paul Central.

These seemed to be warm ups for the Conference Meet.  The top 10 runners were from either South or Roosevelt.  Unfortunately for the Tigers, Roosevelt claimed six of the positions and the Conference Title.  South’s top five finishers, which counted for the team score were Eric Martinson, fifth place, Eli Anthony, seventh, Eric Beise, eighth, Ben Sholl, 10th, and Dietz Dittrich, 14th