MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1985-1986 School Year
1985-1986 Team Photo: Front Row: Johm Benninghoff, Scott Smith, Andreas Beckmann, Joel Simpson, Eric Martinson, Eric Nelsen, Brownell Mack. Middle Row: Andy Johnson, Dietz Deitrich, George Weoblin, Olaf Holt, Donovan Crewe, Matt Pletcher, Bob Simpson, Chris Strom, Eggy Farmer, Dan Rafferty. Back Row: Coach Warren Kaari, Dean Spagensky, Terry Totemeier, Mark Tolkheim, John Munger, Dan Stewart, Kyle Cleven, Benji Schneider, Nathan Olstad, Brian Thundershield, Mark Miller, Coach Craig Canham.

Expectations were high for the Tiger Cross Country team.  After improving the last two seasons, the expectations were for the team to win the conference title.

South opened the season in a dual against both north-side schools.  The Tigers edged North 27-28.  They were also taken to the limit by Henry, but South won 24-31.

South’s only loss in dual meets was a 15-50 thrashing at the hands of Roosevelt

South then won their last three meets, beating Edison 20-35, Washburn 20-32, and Southwest 45-145.

South participated in invitationals at Blaine, Elk River, Fridley, Redwood Falls and Richfield.

At the Conference Meet, South finished second to Roosevelt.  Four runners were named to the All-Conference squad, Mark Miller, third place, Chris Strom, sixth, Andreas Beckman, eighth, and Ed Farmer, 11th.

Mark Miller also performed extremely well at the Region Meet and advanced to the State Meet, becoming the first Tiger to do so.  Miller also competed at the Junior Olympics held in Seattle, WA in the summer before the season began.  He competed in the 10 kilometer race and finished ninth!