MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1984-1985 Season
1984-1985 Team Photo: Front Row: J. Obermeyer, T. Dooley, L. Shelin, S. Olson, A. Jensen, K. Roe, G. Kurtner. Second Row: E. McMahon, H. Jagodzinski, B. Ekola, T. Simon, L. Hadden, J. Comenetti, K. Anderson, A. Johnson. Third Row: A. MacEachern, S. Brynstad, A. Foker, S. Hastings, P. Boler. Back Row: Coach M. Anderson, C. Munson, S. Nesset, K. Sudderth, M. Thayer, B. Shakman, E. Coulter, L. Zimmerman, Assistant Coach N. Anderson.

The 1984-1985 swimming season continued to show improvement by the members of the team and the team as a whole.  The Andersons, Mike and Neil, returned as the coaches for the squad.

South opened the season against Edison.  The Tigers won a close meet 47-35.  Roosevelt also provided a tough opponent.  The Tigers scored a second win 40-30. 

South and Southwest squared off in the closest meet of the season.  The winner was not determined until the last event.  When the points were tallied, one point separated the two teams.  South took home the 42-41 win!

South had its largest margin of victory of the season in their next meet against Henry.  The Patriots fell 50-28.

South faced Washburn in what was the meet for the regular season conference title.  Both teams were undefeated.  The Millers showed the experience of past success, taking the title 96.5-72.5,

South finished the regular season with a 49-33 win over North.

In the conference tournament, South finished second, 20 points behind champion Washburn.  For the first time in school history, a Tiger Swimmer was conference champion in an individual event.  In fact, Anne MacEachern won TWO conference title, in the 100 yard breaststroke and the 200 yard Individual Medley.

South finished the season with a 5-1 record, in second place.  This was the highest the South swimming team has finished in school history.