MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1983-1984 School Year
1983-1984 Varsity Basketball Team: Back Row: Deb Erickson,Tonya Freeman, Head Coach Gordy Halloran, Nina Ackerberg, Michelle Roban. Middle Row: Louise Ward, Vicky Bowman,Marg Jaede, Lori Eiland, Silvia Kapishkowitz, Monique Demps. Front Row: Jeanette Lessly, Diane Kwav, Raffonne Rucker. Not Pictured: Betsy Scott.

The brave, amazing, daring Women’s Basketbal team took the orange rock to the hoop an infinite number of times during the season.  The powerful women awed fans from Henry to Roosevelt.  The Varsity team was probable the biggest, tallest, meanest, toughest team in the city. 

The women had the chance to play in non-conference tournaments, including a trip to Duluth. 

Marg Jaede and Betsy Scott were among to top scorers in the city.  Head Coach Gordy Halloran and JV Coach Anita Rindfleish’s hands guided the team and made South High School proud.

There is a record of only two non-conference scores.  Both games were against St. Paul Johnson.  The teams split with Johnson winning the first game 47-33 and South winning the second game 39-35.

In conference play, the Tugers were 5-6. The results of the second Henry game were not reported.

In the conference opener, North beat the Tigers 48-35.  Edison was the next for and the victims for South’s first conference victory of the year, 3528.  Southwest won 44/35, but Roosevelt and Henry were both victims of the Tiger toughness.  Roosevelt lost 35-32, while Henry wen down 41-31.  The last game of the first half saw the Washburn Millers beat South by 16, 46-30.

The second half was a mirror of the first half.  North again won, this time 42-31.  Edison lost again this time by a 35-28 score. Southwest beat the Tigers for the second time this season 51-37.  Roosevelt was another victim of the Tigers.  The final score of this name was not reported) 

The JV had a 5-2 record in games that the scores were reported.  The Tigers defeated North, Edison, Roosevelt, Edison (again) and Washburn.  The team lost to Washburn and Roosevelt.  Scores in both Southwest games, Both Henry games, and the second North game were not reported.

At the end of the season, Marg Jaede was name to the All-Conference team.