MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1983-1984 School Year
1983-1984 Varsity Team Photo: Front Row: Robert Malone, Tom Sherman, Chris Kimmel, Jim Jones, Bob Schneider, Jeff Halbert, Scott Jeffrey, Bobby Zaragoza, Danny Baker, Jeff Williams. Second Row: Coach Maurice Webert, Omar Sheriff, Rodney Hindberg, John Scott, Eric Foker, Ezell Voeltz, Ricky Wilcox, John Westby, Bobby Nunn, John Hronoski, Ricky Hill, Devin White, Chuck DeMeres, Coach Pete Heryla, Coach Joe Arnold. Third Row: Trent Williams, Ralph Carpenter, Steve Saastad, Mike Sly, Jermer Arradondo, Greg Waskosky, Robert Goodsel, John Madison. Back Row: Jeff Malone Eric Brandt, Darin Hansen, Dale Hansen, Harold Hinrichs, Drake Ritchie, Dean Dugean, Josh Purple, Charles Davis.

The 1983-84 football season began when the captains called for practice before the season began.  The captains ran the team through hard drills.  Those drills cost South a number of players because of injuries incurred during these drills.  When the coaches officially began practice, they had to figure out how to replace the important cogs who could not play.

The Tigers opened the season against Washburn.  The Millers took control of the game from the start and never looked back.  Washburn won 30-0.

The losses continued to pile up.  North won 12-6. That was followed by the South Homecoming game in which the Tigers lost to Henry by the same 12-6 score.  Edison beat the Tigers for their fourth straight loss. 

The game against Roosevelt was the closest game all year.  Neither team scored.  When the game ended after the fourth quarter, the score was a 0-0 tie.  That sent the game into overtime.  South finally kicked a field goal and won 3-0!

South closed out the conference season at Southwest, playing for their Homecoming.  The Southwest fans went home happy, winning the game.

South finished the season against St. Paul Como Park.  The Cougars ended the Tigers’ season the way it began, with a 28-0 loss. 

South finished with a 1-5 conference record.  The only team to finish below the Tigers was Roosevelt.  Overall, the Tigers were 1-6.  Three players were named All-Conference: Darrel Hanson, John Scott and Mike Sly.

Head Coach Maurice Webert was assisted by Joe Arnold, Levain Carter and Pete Heryla.