MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1982-1983 Season
1982-1983 Team Photo: Front Row: Nina Ackerberg, Jennifer O’Connell, Jackie Ott, Lori Swalve, Julie Eveslage, Barb Smith, Andrea Franchett, Michelle Hudy, Emily Ocel, Catherine Park. Back Row: Head Coach George Beske, Meera Dhanalal, Jennifer Johnston, Heidi Beske, Karla Anderson, Andrea Perum, Cindy Wood, Sally Day, Bridget Bilbro, Melanie Majors, Jennifer Tollefson, Laura Leinum, Sara Loper, Assistant Coach Nancy Blake

Head Coach George Beske and the Tiger tennis program were primed for success.  After a number of poor and mediocre seasons the Tigers were ready to take the next step and contend for a title.  Added to the mix were many new players from schools like Central, West and Marshall-University.  Those schools closed and the students were assigned to the other Minneapolis schools.

South opened the season the way last season ended, with a disappointing loss to Washburn.  The Millers showed why they would go undefeated and win the conference title with their 7-0 win.

South bounced back against Henry.  A 6-1 win evened the Tigers record.  This was followed by another 6-1 win over Roosevelt.

South fought hard but fell to Southwest 5-2.  Against Edison, the Tiger pulled out a 4-2 win.  The last game of the conference season saw the Tigers beat North 6-1, finishing with their first winning season in conference play. 

In the Region 5AA Tournament, the doubles team of Cindy Wood and Karla Anderson won the crown and advanced to the State Tournament, the first individual Tigers to do so.  Unfortunately, they lost in the first round of the State Tournament to a team from Virginia, MN.

The Tigers finished the conference season with a 4-2 record, good for third place, their best finish in school history. In non-conference play, the Tigers were 3-7, finishing with an overall record of 7-9.  Unfortunately, none of the conference match scores or opponents have been found. 

Nancy Blake served as the Junior Varsity coach.  Barb Smith took second in the JV individual tournament.