MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1978-1979 School Year
1978-1979 Varsity Team Photo: Front Row: Mark Wysong, Sheldon Roberts, Kevin Wallace, Bill Marden, Gregg, Holmes, Tony Costello, Steve Anderson. Second Row: Dean Sullickson, Brent Jeffers, Floyd Skogstad, Jeff Larch, Coach Eric Magdanz, Coach Don Sovell, Coach Maurice Webert, Paul Davis, M. Gonzalez, Jerry Skinaway, Don Soulack. Third Row: Steve Rogers, John Sedlock, Rich Hansen, Jim Scott, Mark OShie, Bill Hall, Dorlen Lundberg, Ken Eskelson, Terry Scheele. Back Row: Steve Harrity, Bob Ness, Mark Pereson, Brad Carroll, Dan McConville, Steve Rivera, Lary Larson, John Kern, Barry Erickson.

Coach Don Sovell and his staff believed that it would be easy to improve the Tigers’ record over last year when the team only won one game.  When Sovell looked back on the season he said, “They worked together as a team, had lost of spirit and they were a good group to work with,” according to the 1979 South Yearbook. 

South opened the season with a win over North.  The Tiger defense held the Polars to only one score.  South won 14-8.

South continued the winning streak against Southwest.  The unusual score of 11-8 gave the Tigers an undefeated record at 2-0.

South hit the skids beginning with their game against Edison.  The Tommies overwhelmed South.  The Tommie defense shut down the Tigers and the offense seemed to score at will.  The Final was 48-0.

Roosevelt continued  the destruction as the rolled up the points.  The Tigers did score but were doubled up by the Teddies 38-19.

For Homecoming, South hosted non-conference opponent Prior Lake.  The Lakers sent the partisan crowd home disappointed as the Tigers lost again 41-25.

Henry continued the pummeling of the Tigers winning 34-19.  This was followed by a 27-0 shut out by Washburn and a close 13-7 loss to Central.

The Tigers ended the season the way it started, with a win.  The victim was West, who fell 34-20.

South finished the season with a 3-5 conference record and 3-6 overall record. The Tigers tied for sixth place with Southwest.  Despite the record, South placed three players on the All-Conference squad: quarterback Bill Marden, defensive end Dorlen Lundberg, and defensive back Terry Scheele.  Marden was also named to the All-Metro team.

Coach Sovell was assisted this season by Eric Magdanz, Jeff Olson, Willie Owens and Maurice Webert.