MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1975-1976 School Year
1975-1976 Varsity Team Photo: Front Row: Charles Lenzen, Kevin Johnson, Richard Westlund, Larry LaCroix, Gary Benjamin, Paul Gerard, Thomas Erickson, Gordon Gibbs, Richard Maurer, Darrell Anderson, David LeBre. Middle Row: Tony Linderholm, Russell Longhofer, Lenny Sedlock, Lee Hanson, Mike Quesnell, Tim Costello, Clark Messenbrink, Brett Anderson, Brad Vifquain, Steve Videen, Daniel Nelson, Richard Oakley, Mark Fors. Back Row: Assistant Coach Roy Hawkins, Henry Gomez, Terry Wong, Silas, Sharp, Chuck Emerson, David Matson, James Schuda, Mike Klunenberg, Jeff Flavin, Clint Fernandez, Steve Wise, Richard Goodsell, Al Quigley, Head Coach Don Sovell.

As the Tiger prepared for the opening game of the 1975-1976 season, Head Coach Don Sovell knew this would be a tough year.  Only 12 seniors were member of the team, thus forcing Sovell and his assistants to rely heavily on sophomores and juniors. 

South opened the season against West.  The two team seemed to be equal, but a few bounces went West’s way and West won 18-6.

South earned their first win of the season in their second game.  Washburn was overwhelmed and was beaten by the Tigers 26-6.

South lost the next two game.  Against Edison, the team was competitive, but the Tommies still doubled up the Tigers 28-14.  South then travelled to North to play at the Polars’ Homecoming.  North was victorious 20-0.

South returned home to face Southwest in the annual Homecoming game.  To the delight of the crowd, South won 12-6!

Arch-rival Roosevelt beat the Tigers 27-14.  Then, the final game of the season came against Central.  Everyone expected the Pioneers to have their way with the Tigers.  To the surprise of everyone, including Central, the teams were tied at zero at halftime!  Central eventually won 14-0, but the young team looked to be maturing in order to be competitive next season.

South finished the season with a 2-6 record, tied with Henry for seventh place.

Coach Sovell was assisted by Dave Bross, Roy Hawkins, Eric Magdanz, Lee Owens, Stan Skavnak and Maurice Webert.