MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1973-1974 School Year
Varsity: Front Row: Randy Denardo, Pat Skahen, Tom Rosenow, Chris Kilber, Jeff Swenson, Mike Rosenow. Back Row: Head Coach Bob Lee, Bob Roberts, Fred Herby, Chuck Vifquain, Don Anderson, Mike Mourning, Dean Johnson, Assistant Coach Wayne Kopesky.

The South wrestling team was set back this year before the season started.  Co-Captain and returning District 17 champion Ron Anderson was out for the season because of a football injury. 

Despite the loss of Anderson, the team had their best conference record in history, finishing 9-1, second only to Edison.

The conference season started with a victory over the Pioneers of Central by a score of 35-21.  The second match was against Vocational for a 39-12 Tiger victory.

The third victim of the season was Washburn who fell by a 37-10 score.  Roosevelt was next, falling 25-17.  Marshall-University, 51-3, Henry, 34-18, West, 42-16, North, 40-10, and Southwest, 33-20, all fell to the might of the Tigers.

This set up the match for the conference championship.  Both South and Edison were tied with 9-0 records when they met of Feb. 7, 1974.  The match was a close one, fitting of two undefeated teams and it came down to the last wrestlers.  Edison prevailed by a close 21-18 score.

In non-conference action, the Tigers only lost to Park Center.

The post-season began with the District 17 meet.  South finished in 3rd place, behind Edison and Central.  Bob Roberts and Mike Rosenow took first place in their respective weight division.  Four others joined Roberts and Rosenow in the Region tournament: Pat Skahen, Jeff Swenson, Don Anderson and Chuck Vifquain. Anderson place 4th at 155 weight and Vifquain placed 5th in 167 weight at the Region meet.

In the Sophomore Conference Tournament South finished in 3rd place.  With the team losing only three wrestlers to graduation, Don Anderson, Chuck Vifquain and Bob Roberts, this means most of the team will be returning.  With a positive showing at the Sophomore Tournament, they should be able to help fill in for the graduating wrestlers.

Pat Skahen, Mike Rosenow, Don Anderson and Fred Herby were named All-Conference.

Robert Lee was the head coach for the 12th and final year.  Mr. Lee stepped down after the season ended. Mr. Lee was also honored by being named the Minnesota State Wrestling coach of the year. Wayne Kopesky assisted Mr. Lee again.