MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1966-1967 School Year
1966-1967 Varsity Team Photo: Front Row: Anderson, Grice, Brousa, Wilson, McHie, Blue, Renstrom, Svidron, Dodge, Ambrosier. Middle Row: Thompson, Ahrens, Marr, Pederson, Dean, Hoyt, Bergerson, Steward, Ponto, Hanson, Kolhof, Martineau, Clementson. Back Row: Haugen, Neuson, Roscoe, Forsburg, Vissen, Winfield, Suseson, Walhstrom, Rodgers, Gramling, Peach, Piniske, Peterson, Dillon, Kormanik.

With many returning juniors and seniors, South was one of the favorites to win the conference title.  Head coach Jim Haugen and his staff had the responsibility to guide the young men to a successful season.

South opened with two close games.  They first took on North.  South won a close game 13-6.  The game with Marshall was even closer.  A missed extra point gave the game to the Tigers 14-13.

Injuries hampered the Tigers for rest of the season.  Hurt in the Marshall game included end Bill Breitbarth, linebacker Dave Hanson and fullback Dave Bergerson. 

The loss of these players hurt the Tigers when they took on Vocational.  The game was close and the offence put up point, but not as many as the Volt.  Vocational took the contest 21-18. 

Agaist Southwest, the Tigers still played a tough defense but the offense managed only once score.  Southwest barely won, 9-7. 

South hosted their Homecoming game against Central. The Pioneers controlled the game from the start and sent the crown home disappointed.  Central won 33-0 and headed toward the conference title.

The Tigers’ fortunes changed against West.  The offense work up.  At halftime, South led 21-7 7 even though they only had 16 offensive plays!  Three of those plays were touchdown passes.  Ollie Blue ran for an 11-yard touchdown in the third quarter.  Joe Hoyt threw for five touchdowns.  He completed nine of 15 passes for 194 yards.   South won easily 46-7.

The star of the Washburn game was Vern Winfield.  His play at linebacker was bone jarring.  Winfield intercepted a pass which led to a Hoyt to Terry Suneson pass for 33 yard. Hoyt hit Fred Dean for the 11-yard touchdown. In the fourth quarter, Winfield hit a Miller so hard he caused a fumble.   South won 21-12.

The last game of the season was against Roosevelt.  The game was decided in the fourth quarter when the Teddies pulled away and won 29-6.

South finished with a 4-4 record, tied with Southwest for fourth place.  Vern Winfield was named to the First Team All-Conference.  Joe Hoyt made the Second Team.

Haugen was assisted by Dave Dillon, Richard Kormanik, Bill McMoore, Mr. Neusom, Mr. G. Roscoe, and Maurice Webert.