MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1960-1961 School Year
1960-1961 Varsity Team Photo: Front Row: Rhodes, Joyce, Argue, Crump, Evans, Buchan, Dodge, Holmes, Larsen, Pederson, Daniels, Predvechny, Petri, Dufner. Second Row: Olson, Durheim, Hewitt, Schultz, Woodward, Berglund, Pautz, Reinke, Martineau, Brumback, Peterson. Third Row: Petry, Crump, Natole, Wallin, Vagle, Rasmussen, McIntosh, Revak, Newsom, Westby, Larson, Strick, Lund, Johnson, Head Coach Butterwick. Back Row: Assistant Coach Pihlstrom, Vasseur, Schirmer, Wetternach, McDavid, Hall, Sylvers, Dorsey, Torkelson, Knutson, Hoeft, Baird

Going into the new season, the Tigers were hoping to put the misfortunes of last season behind them.  Third year Head Coach Walt Butterwick looked for the Tigers to contend for the title.

South started out on the right foot against North.  The defense played superbly and the offense moved the ball and took advantage of the Polar errors.  South won 20-0.

The Tigers offense struggled against Southwest.  The defense again held their opponents down, only allowing one touchdown.  However, that was enough for Southwest to win, 7-6

South hosted Roosevelt for the Tigers’ Homecoming.  With alumni looking on, South played a very competitive game.  Roosevelt played the spoilers however, and sent the crowd home upset as the Teddies won 20-13.

At a 1-2 record, South took on West.  The defense rebounded, limiting West to only one score.  The offense also responded and the Tigers won 20-6.

Against Vocational, the Tiger offense seemed to score at will and the defense played what has become the norm.  South moved to 3-2 with a 40-6 victory.

Marshall gave the Tigers their toughest game of the second half of the season.  A five point differential gave South another win 19-14.

South finished the season with a 26-6 win over Edison.

The Tigers finished with a 5-2 record, in fourth place.  Dave Woodward was named to the First Team All-Conference squad.  Erv Berglund and Dave Westby were Second Team All-Conference.

Coach Butterwick was assisted by Jim Haugen, Jim Lushine, Bill McMoore and Al Pihlstrom.