MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1955-1956 School Year
Front Row: L. Spartz, R. Lane, L. Nelson, D. Johnson, J. Ferguson. Row 2: J. Paul, R. Olson, C. Gorton, D.Newman, R. Saterbo, T. Gherity, R. Lufkin. Back Row: Coach Rainey

The South High wrestling team in its second year of competition finished the season with a 1-8 record.  Although the team only won one meet, they won one-third of their matches. 

The first match of the season was against Roosevelt on December 1, 1955.  The Teddies won 40-10.  Washburn  then defeated the Tigers 38-12. 

In the closest meet of the season, Central barely defeated the Tigers 25-20. South continued improving, losing to Henry 33-22, Vocational 31-17, and West 27-19.

After four decent matches, the Tigers were overpowered by Marshall 40-7. North also defeated South 40-14.

The last meet of the year was against Edison.  South ended the season on a positive note defeating the Tommies 35-16.  

Captain Les Nelson, Denny Johnson and Jerry Ferguson were the outstanding wrestlers.  Johnson entered the sub-regional meet. Coach Rainey’s team consisted of 12 dedicated wrestlers.