MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1954-1955 School Year
1954-1955 Varsity Team Photo: Front Row: Randazza, Westby, McMurtrie, Westby. Second Row: Coach Barnard, Fritz, Walsh, Johnson, Alm, Mathews, Terry, Dahl, Keavy, Bridgeman, Evenson, Coach Fredrickson. Third Row: Gebhart, Stengel, Rasmussen, Neilsen, Provo, Stolsen, Stendahl, McGinnis, Yurik, Perry, Roberts, Michels. Back Row: Saunders, Wolfe, Anderson, Olson, Freeburg, Weltzin, Nelson, Scroggins, Allenson, Raze, Verrett, Gilligan.

According to the conference coaches, South was the favorite to win the title.  However, being listed as the favorite is not winning the crown.  You must go out and prove you deserve the ranking.  Head Coach Lester Barnard and his assistants, Walter Butterwick, Arthur Fredrickson, Jim Lushine and Al Pihlstrom, knew all the other teams would be after the Tigers.

South opened the season aagainst Roosevelt.  The Teddies were one of the teams that could challenge the Tigers. The game was a battle of wills.  Roosevelt handed the Tigers a 13-6 defeat.

South took on Henry in the second game.  This game was just as hard fought at the first game.  South scored the only touchdown of the game and won 6-0.

South knew the next game, against Washburn, would either make or break the changes for a title.  Washburn was undefeated.  South was no match for the Millers, as Washburn won 28-6.

South bounced back against Southwest.  The Tigers won 25-14.

South hosted Marshall for Homecoming.  Alumni returned to find both teams working hard to win.  Each team scored a touchdown.  The final was 7-6.  Tiger fans went home celebrating the close win.

South then travelled to Central to partake in their homecoming.  South played the spoilers and downed Central 19-0.

Two more victories, a 12-7 win over North, and a 31-18 win over Vocational, ended the season.

South finished with a 6-2 record, good for third place in the conference. Three players were honored with All-Conference appointment.  End Jim Westby was named to the first team.  Quarterback Dick Randazza and Guard Ron Keavy were named to the second team.