MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1934-1935 School Year
1934-1935 Varsity Team Photo: Front Row: Rohlen, Danielson, Thomas, Thompson, Connolly, Bernhardt, Smith, Peterson, Bailey, Hultman. Middle Row: Coach Barnard, Anderson, Lampman, Steinke, Russ, Olson, Zemple, Kolhoff, Hardman, Nystrom, Coach Ilstrup. Back Row: Robson, Skramstad, Nelson, O’Brien, Velander, Makousky, A. Irgens, V. Irgens, Newton, Howell, A. Johnson, Carlson.

South opened the new season with hopes of improving on last season’s .500 record.  Coaches Lester Barnard and Ancil Ilstrup expected improvement. 

The Tigers began the season against a non-conference opponent, St. Paul Johnson.  The Tigers won what be their closest game of the season, 7-6.

South opened city play against Edison.  The Tommies were determined, but determination would not be enough to stop the Tigers.  South won 20-0.

The following week, South took on their old nemesis North.  North gave the Tigers a very competitive game, with South pulling it out 13-7 for their second win.

South then took on Marshall.  Marshall had not lost a game since the end of the 1931-32 school year.  That loss came against South, 16-7.  This game was closer than the game played in 1931.  Again, Marshall scored one touchdown.  South scored 12 points on two touchdowns handing Marshall a 12-7 loss.

South continued winning, this time against Washburn.  The 25-0 win was the easiest win of the season for the Tigers.  This game was followed by the Tigers’ Homecoming game.  Roosevelt pushed the Tigers to the limit, but still fell 13-6.  Against West, South easily won 28-14.

The last game of the season would be for the conference title.  South took on Central.  Central was also undefeated.  The newspapers gave Central a slight favor to win the game.  Adding to the game was that it was also Central’s Homecoming.  South and Central gave the fans everything they wanted.  The game was close.  Fans from both sides cheers for their teams.  South won 13-6.

The win gave South the conference title and the chance to play in the annual Twin City championship.  South took on the St. Paul Champion, Central.  The St. Paul champs were no match for South’s speed.  The Tiger utilized speed to score at will.  Even though a number of touchdowns were called back because of penalties, the Tigers still won 38-7!

Seven players were honored as members of the all-city team.  Vincent Irgens, Stuart Bailey, Roman Makousky, Robert Danielson and Russ Connelly were named to the first team.  Art Irgens and Bernard Hultman were named to the second team.