MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1932-1933 School Year
1932-1933 Varsity Team Photo: Back Row: Head Coach Mr. Barnard, Holte, Kvalness, Riss, Makousky, Saliterman. Middle Row: Irgens, Fredeen, Robertson, Draxten, Skyberg. Front Row: Keefe, Smith, Hobler, Herkal, Hastings, Anderson.

After last season, the Tiger Basketball Team was in search of a new Head Coach.  They found him in the guise of Les Barnard.  Mr. Barnard served as an assistant coach with former Head Coach Evan O. Williams.  Mr. Barnard inherited a team that was predicted to be one of the favorites to win the conference title along with Edison and North.

Another difference this season was a rule change which required the offensive team to get the ball across the center line with 10 seconds of taking possession of the ball.  This was intended to liven up the game and prevent a team from stalling. 

Finally, after last season, the Athletic Directors voted to return to the Minnesota State High School League.  This would also bring back the Twin City Championship game.

The Tigers won all their preseason games scheduled against prep and college teams.

The Tigers started off their conference season against West.  An excellent show of ball handling led South to their first win of the conference schedule, 30-23.

In the second game, the Tigers played one of the co-favorites to win the title, Edison.  Edison seemed out-classed, as the Tigers won by the same score they beat West, 30-23.

The schedule did not get any easier, with the Tigers next opponent being the other co-favorite, North.  This game was truly a championship caliber game, with the Polars holding on to win by a 25-23 score.

South was shocked in the next game against Marshall.  Marshall was a team not picked to contend for the title, but they upset the Tigers 26-21. 

South finished off the season with three straight wins.  First they defeated Central 27-17.  Then Washburn fell 32-12.  The last game of the season was against Roosevelt.  This game was extremely close, but the Tigers won 24-23.

South finished in a three-way tie for second place with Edison and Marshall.  Eddie Anderson was named to the All-Conference first team.  Mirth Smith was named to the second team.