MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1929-1930 School Year
1929-1930 Varsity Team Photo: Back Row: Markuson, Anders, Russ, McCloud, Makousky, Juster, Larson. Middle Row: Agranoff, Mitby, Swanson, Held, Silverman, Marren. Front Row: Mr. Barnard, Conlon, Nordquist, RInde, Wick, Ubl, Mr. Williams

Coach Evan O. Williams brought many familiar faces back from the prior season when the Tigers finished in second place.  Hopes were high for a conference title and more.

The conference season opened with a win against Marshall.  Nordquist’s shot under the basket and McClouds foul won the game 24-19. 

Edison fell 29-17 next.  McCloud led the attack.  Next came the Teddies.  The game was a heated contest.  But behind McCloud’s 16 points, the Tigers won 29-18. 

In a rather low scoring game, South barely defeated North, 15-14.  Nordquist hit a long shot to win the game.  South ended the first half of the season undefeated, beating Washburn 22-8. 

The second half started the same way the first half did with a win over Marshall, this time 22-11. 

The Roosevelt game was a thriller.  McCloud scored 13 and Ubl eight in route to a 25-19 win. 

The second Edison game was next on the agenda.  Edison was winning 29-28, but a last second basket by Nordquist gave the Tigers a 30-29 win.

South’s win over North, 34-20, guaranteed the Conference Title to the Tigers.  McCloud again led the South scorers with 15 points.

The Tigers closed off the Conference Season with a 35-13 win over Washburn.  Ralph Mitby scored 11 point to lead the team.  McCloud and Nordquist each added six points to the win.

South advanced to the National Tournament in Chicago.  About 100 students, friends and family members saw the team off at the train depot.  The Tigers ran into a little bad luck, losing the first game to Braselton, GA, 20-18.  South bounced back with a strong effort to defeat Waterloo, IA 39-16.  McCloud led the way with 25 points.  Baylor Academy eliminated the Tigers from the Tournament by a 24-19 score.  Bill McCloud was named an Honorable Mention All-American.