MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1929-1930 School Year
1929-1930 Varsity Team Photo: Front Row: Wick, Cleve, Hanley, Wagnild, Trow, Morey, Connolly. Middle Row: Mr. Barnard, Prokofield, Hagen, Mortenson, Anderson, Markuson, Ness, U bl, Holmes, Marren, Jensen, Haug, Williams. Back Row: Bannarn, Kraft, Conlin, Sather, Burns, Sather, Flynn, McCloud, Donaghue, Clark.

As defending champions, South had all the other teams in the city trying to unseat the champions.  It would be the responsibility of second year coach Les Barnard to duplicate the season the Tigers had last year.

South started the season with a 25-6 win over Marshall.  Ness, Uble and Markuson were the three stars of the game.  South continued their winning against Washburn.  South completely stopped the Miller attack, winning 27-0.

The Tigers continued their winning against Roosevelt.  Roosevelt only managed a safety while losing 19-2.  West was the next victim of a Tiger mauling, with South taking the game 25-0.

Central gave the Tigers their toughest competition of the season.  South was held to 14 points, however, Central only scored 6.  The defense stepped up in the next game against Edison.  The Tigers shut out the Tommies 18-0.

South finished their season against North.  The game pitted two of the oldest programs in the city and the game.  North was outplayed in the first half, coming away with a 0-0 tie at halftime.  In the Second half, Nexx and Markuson scored touchdowns and the defense kept the Polars scoreless, giving the Tigers a 12-0 win.   

South ended with a 7-0 conference record and for the second year in a row won the conference title. The Tigers finished the season with their 15th consecutive city win, spanning over the last three seasons.