MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
1921-1922 School Year

Team Photo Not Available

The 1921-22 football squad was very green.  Only four players were returning from the previous season.  Also, another new coach was hired to lead the Tigers. Blaine McKusick replaced Mr. Thompson and became the 17th coach in 28 season South has played football.  The local papers all picked the Tigers to finish at the bottom of the standings.

South opened the season with a non-conference game against DeLaSalle.  South pulled off a surprise and upset the Islanders 42-6!

South opened the conference season against North.  South found it hard to get their offense going.  The first half was played with three downs and a punt.  Neither team recorded a first down in the first half!  In the second half, four time South moved within scoring range.  The best scoring chance came when Nickel dropped back to the 15 yard line for a field goal.  Everyone though it was good, but the ball sailed wide.   When the game ended, the final was a 0-0 tie.

South faced East for their second conference game.  The Cardinals moved the ball with ease, completing pass after pass.  East blocked a punt which gave them a safety to open the scoring. East continued scoring and rung up a 28-0 score over the Tigers.

South faced Central in the next game.  South again committed errors, fumbling the ball on possible scoring chances.  But Central also had a tough time scoring.  The only points of the game came on a lone field goal.  The Tigers lost again, 3-0.

The last game of the season was against was against West.  South scored the first touchdown at the start of the third quarter.  McLeod took the kick-off and weaved 85 yards for a touchdown.  South led going into the fourth quarter when West came back and scored two touchdowns, handing the Tigers another loss, 14-7.

South finished the conference season 0-3-1 tied with North for last place.  Overall, the Tigers’ record was 1-4-1.  George Tuttle was named to the all-conference squad by three Minneapolis newspapers, The Journal, The Daily News and The Tribune.  Leslie Nyberg and Roger Wheeler were named to the second team by the Tribune.