MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact MyMPS
Music Concerts & Events

 

South High School Music Department
Proudly Presents

 

Super Soccer Saturday
Saturday, September 19, 2:00PM (call time)
Varsity Choir performs at 2:30PM
South Field

 

Pop Singers Auditions
Tuesday, September 12, 3:30-7:30pm
South Choir Room 100
   Altos: 3:30-4:45
   Sopranos: 4:45-6:00
   Tenors: 6:30-7:00
   Basses: 7:00-7:30

 

Jazz Ensemble I Auditions
0 Hour & After School
South Band Room 102
   Saxophones: Tuesday, September 12
   Trombone: Wednesday, September 13
   Trumpet: Thursday, September 14
   Rhythm Section: Friday, September 15

 

Music Firewood Sale
Saturday, September 23, 9:00–11:30AM
Varsity Choir, Pop Singers, Chamber Orchestra, Wind Ensemble, Jazz Ensemble I
South Parking Lot

 

Cantus In-School Concert
Wednesday, October 11, 9:15 AM
South Auditorium

 

Homecoming
Friday, October 13, 3:00–5:00 PM
All Band Students
South Field

 

MPS Jazz Festival
Friday, November 3, 12:00–9:00 PM
Jazz Ensemble I, Jazz Ensemble II
South High

 

Fall Concerts
Thursday, November 2, 7:30 PM
South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band

Wednesday, November 8, 7:00 PM
Concert Choir, Bass Choir, Treble Choir, Varsity Choir, Pop Singers

Thursday, November 9, 7:00 PM
String Orchestra and Chamber Orchestra

Friday, November, 10, 7:00 PM
Concert Band, Symphonic Band, Wind Ensemble

Monday, November 13, 7:00 PM
Jazz Ensemble I, Jazz Ensemble II

 

Pop Singers Holiday Performances
More Dates TBD (MOA, IDS, Minnehaha Senior Living)
Pop Singers
Saturday, December 2
  
12:30: Bethany Lutheran Church (2511 E. Franklin Ave.)
  2:00: East Lake Library (2727 E. Lake St.)

 

1st Annual South Music Gala
Friday, December 8, 7:00 PM
All Music Students
Walker United Methodist Church
  3104 16th Ave. S., Minneapolis

 

Holiday Concert
Tuesday, December 19, 7:00 PM
Pop Singers, South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band
South Auditorium

 

Swing Night
Friday, January 19, 7:00 PM
Jazz Ensemble I, Jazz Ensemble II, select soloists from Pop Singers, Dance Department, Guest Artist
South Commons

 

11th Annual Pops Concert
Thursday, February 1, 7:00 PM
Chamber Orchestra, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble
South Auditorium

 

Guest Artist Concerts
Thursday, February 8, 7:00 PM
Concert Choir, Treble Choir, Bass Choir

Friday, February 9, 7:00 PM
String Orchestra, Concert Band, Symphonic Band

 

Cantus Residency Festival Day
Saturday, February 10, 9:00 AM–3:00 PM
Varsity Choir
Gloria Dei Lutheran Church
   700 Snelling Ave. S., St. Paul, 55116

 

Community Band and Jazz Winter Concert
Tuesday, February 13, 7:30 PM
South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band

 

South Music Day
Thursday, February 15, during school performances for middle school students
Varsity Choir, Pop Singers, Chamber Orchestra, Wind Ensemble, Jazz Ensemble I
South Auditorium

 

MSHSL Choral Large Group Contest
Monday, March 12, during school
Varsity Choir
Location TBD

 

Cantus Residency Concert
Tuesday, March 20, evening
Varsity Choir
Location TBD

 

Tour Benefit/Montage Concert
Thursday, March 22, 7:00 PM
Chamber Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble I, Pop Singers, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble, & select solos/groups
South Auditorium

 

Music Tour: Washington, D.C.
Wednesday, April 11 – Monday, April 16
Chamber Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble I, Pop Singers, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble

 

Voice Recital
Monday, April 23, 7:00 PM
Private Voice Lesson Students
South Choir Room 100

 

Cantus Idol
Monday, May 7, evening
Selected Students from Varsity Choir
The Ritz Theater
  345 13th Ave. NE, Mpls, 55413

 

Spring Concerts
Tuesday, April 24, 7:30 PM
South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band

Thursday, May 10, 7:00 PM
Concert Choir, Bass Choir, Treble Choir, Varsity Choir

Tuesday, May 15, 7:00 PM
String Orchestra and Chamber Orchestra

Thursday, May 17, 7:00 PM
Concert Band, Symphonic Band, Wind Ensemble\\

Monday, May 21, 7:00 PM
Jazz Ensemble I, Jazz Ensemble II, Pop Singers

TBD, Minnehaha Park Concert
South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band

 

Pop Singers End of Year Breakfast
Thursday, May 24, 7:00 AM
Maria’s Café
 113 E. Franklin Ave.

 

Jazz Band & Pop Singers Last Rehearsal
Friday, May 25, 7:15 AM

 

Graduation
Saturday, June 2, 1:00 PM
Chamber Orchestra, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble
Mariucci Arena, U of M Twin Cities

 

All Concerts at South High School begin at 7pm
 $5.00 adults  | $3.00 students 
(Unless otherwise noted)
 

Call for more information: 
612-668-4300 (Main Office)
or 612-668-4342 (Music Office)

PDF South Choir Calendar 2017-18   --  South Choir Calendar 2017-18