MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact MyMPS
Music Concerts & Events

 

South High School Music Department
Proudly Presents

 

2018


Pop Singers Auditions

Thursday, September 6, 3:307:00pm
Altos: 3:30-4:30
Sopranos: 4:45-5:45
Tenors: 6:00-6:25
Basses: 6:35-7:00


Jazz Ensemble I Auditions

0 Hour and After School
Saxophones, Tuesday, September 11
Trombone, Wednesday, September 12
Trumpet, Thursday, September 13
Rhythm Section, Friday, September 14


Homecoming

Saturday, September 22, 4:00-6:00 PM
All Band Students
Roosevelt High School Field


MPS Jazz Festival

Time and Date TBD
Jazz Ensemble I, Jazz Ensemble II
Location TBD


Super Soccer Saturday

Saturday, September 29, 4:00 PM
Varsity Choir
Roosevelt High School Field


Fall Concerts

Tuesday, October 30, 7:30 PM
South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band

Wednesday, November 7, 7:00 PM
Concert Choir, Bass Choir, Treble Choir, Varsity Choir, Pop Singers

Thursday, November 8, 7:00 PM
String Orchestra and Chamber Orchestra

Friday, November, 9, 7:00 PM
Concert Choir, Symphonic Band, and Wind Ensemble

Monday, November 12, 7:00 PM
Jazz Ensemble I and Jazz Ensemble II


Sounds of South (Fundraising Event) 

Friday, December 7, 7:00 PM
All Music Students can audition to perform
Location TBD


Pop Singers Holiday Performances

More Dates TBD (MOA, IDS Center)
Pop Singers
Saturday, December 2
      East Lake Library (2727 E. Lake St.)
      American Swedish Institute


Holiday Concert

Tuesday, December 18, 7:00 PM
Pop Singers, South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band
South Auditorium


2019 


Swing Night

Friday, January 18, 7:00 PM
Jazz Ensemble I, Jazz Ensemble II, select soloists from Pop Singers, Dance Department, Guest Artist Maurice Jacox
South Commons
Ticket Prices: TBD


12thAnnual Pops Concert

Thursday, January 31, 7:00 PM
Chamber Orchestra, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble
South Auditorium


Guest Artist Concerts

Thursday, February 7, 7:00 PM
Concert Choir, Bass Choir, Treble Choir

Friday, February 8, 7:00 PM
String Orchestra and Symphonic Band


Community Band and Jazz Winter Concert

Tuesday, February 12, 7:30 PM
South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band


South Music Feeders Tour Days

Thursday, February 7, during school 
Varsity Choir and Pop Singers
Howe, Sanford, etc.

Band and Orchestra date TBD


MSHSL Choral Large Group Choral Contest

Monday, March 11 or 18, during school
Varsity Choir
Location TBD


Tour Benefit/Montage Concert

Thursday, March 21, 7:00 PM
Chamber Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble I, Pop Singers, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble, & select solos/groups
South Auditorium


Music Tour: Destination TBD

Wednesday, April 10 – Monday, April 15
Chamber Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble I, Pop Singers, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble


Voice Recitals

Monday, April 22, 6:00 & 7:30 PM
Private Voice Lesson Students
South Choir Room 100


Spring Concerts

Tuesday, April 23, 7:30 PM
South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band

Tuesday, May 7, 7:00 PM
String Orchestra and Chamber Orchestra

Thursday, May 9, 7:00 PM
Concert Choir, Bass Choir, Treble Choir, Varsity Choir

Thursday, May 16, 7:00 PM
Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble

Monday, May 20, 7:00 PM
Jazz Ensemble I, Jazz Ensemble II, Pop Singers

TBD, Minnehaha Park Concert
South High Community Band and South High Community Jazz Band


Zero Hour End of the Year Breakfast 
(last zero hour meeting):

Thursday, May 23, 7:00am
Location TBD


Graduation

Date TBD (most likely Saturday, June 1, 10:45am-3:30pm, with ceremony at 1pm)
Chamber Orchestra, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble
3M Arena at Mariucci, U of M Twin Cities

 

All Concerts at South High School begin at 7pm
 $5.00 adults  | $3.00 students 
(Unless otherwise noted)
 

Call for more information: 
612-668-4300 (Main Office)
or 612-668-4342 (Music Office)

PDF South Choir Calendar 2017-18   --  South Choir Calendar 2017-18