MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact MyMPS
Music Concerts & Events
j0335694_4.wmf

The 2016-2017 
South High School Music Department
Proudly Presents

 

 

 

Super Soccer Saturday
Saturday, September 10, 1:30PM (call time)
Varsity Choir performs at 2:00PM
South Field

 

Music Tour Firewood Sale
Saturday, September 24, 9:00AM-1:00PM
Varsity Choir, Pop Singers, Chamber Orchestra, Wind Ensemble, Jazz I
South HS Small Parking Lot (outside door #3)

 

Homecoming
Friday, October 7, 3:00 PM
All Band Students
South HS Field

 

MPS Jazz Festival
Friday, October 28, 12:00 – 9:00 PM
Jazz Ensemble I, Jazz Ensemble II
North High
 

Fall Concert Series

Tuesday, November 1, 7:00 PM
South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band

Wednesday, November 9, 7:00 PM
Concert Band, Symphonic Band, Wind Ensemble

Thursday, November 10, 7:00 PM
String Orchestra and Chamber Orchestra

Friday, November 11, 7:00 PM
Concert Choir, Bass Choir, Treble Choir, Varsity Choir, Pop Singers

Monday, November 14, 7:00 PM
Jazz Ensembles I & II

 

MN High School All-Star Football Game
Saturday, December 3, 3:00 PM
Varsity Choir, Pop Singers, & select singers from other Mpls Public Schools High Schools
US Bank Stadium

 

Pop Singers Holiday Performances

Saturday, December 3, 1:00 PM
Seward Winter Frolic
Bethany Lutheran Church
 

Wednesday, December 7, 12:00 PM
IDS Center (Crystal Court), Downtown Mpls
Minnehaha Senior Living (1:45 PM)

 
Saturday, December 10, 3:30 PM
East Lake Library
Mall of America (6:00 PM)

 

Holiday Concert
Tuesday, December 13, 7:00 PM
Pop Singers, South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band
South High Auditorium

 

Swing Night
Friday, January 13, 7:00 PM
Jazz Ensemble I, Jazz Ensemble II, select soloists from Pop Singers, Dance Department, Guest Artist J.D. Steele
South High Commons

 

10th Annual Pops Concert
Thursday, February 2, 7:00 PM
Chamber Orchestra, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble
South High Auditorium

 

Winter Concert Series

Tuesday, February 7, 7:00 PM
String Orchestra, Concert Band, Symphonic Band

Thursday, February 9, 7:00 PM
Concert Choir, Treble Choir, Bass Choir

Tuesday, February 14, 7:00 PM
South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band

 

Minnesota Chorale’s Men in Music
Friday, March 3, after school & evening
Tenors & Basses from Pop Singers, Varsity Choir, & Bass Choir
Location TBD

 

MSHSL Large Group Contest
Monday, March 13, afternoon
Varsity Choir
Minnetonka High School

 

Tour Benefit/Montage Concert
Friday, March 24, 7:00 PM
Chamber Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble I, Pop Singers, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble, select solos & groups
South High Auditorium

 

Music Tour: St. Louis
Wednesday, April 19 – Sunday, April 23
Chamber Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble I, Pop Singers, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble

 

Spring Concert Series

Tuesday, April 25, 7:00 PM
South High Community Band, South High Community Jazz Band

Tuesday, May 9, 7:00 PM
Jazz Ensemble I, Jazz Ensemble II, Pop Singers

Thursday, May 11, 7:00 PM
Concert Choir, Bass Choir, Treble Choir, Varsity Choir

Tuesday, May 16, 7:00 PM
String Orchestra and Chamber Orchestra

Friday, May 19, 7:00 PM
Concert Band, Symphonic Band, Wind Ensemble

 

Music Department Annual Picnic
Tuesday, May 23, 4:30 – 7:00 PM
All Music Students Invited
Lake Nokomis Park (near Rec Center)

 

Graduation
Saturday, June 3, ceremony begins at 1:00 PM
Chamber Orchestra, Varsity Choir, Wind Ensemble
Mariucci Arena, U of M Twin Cities

 

All Concerts begin at 7pm 
South High School Auditorium
 $5.00 adults  | $3.00 students 
(Unless otherwise noted.)

Call for more information: 
612-668-4300 (Main Office)
or 612-668-4342 (Music Office)